The holiday season is a time when assisting the hungry and those who are in need of food assistance is on the top of our minds. 

With the holidays in full swing, the Northeast Iowa Food Bank and other hunger-relief organizations in Black Hawk County have released a schedule with their modified hours during the weeks of Christmas and New Year’s.

The Northeast Iowa Food Bank (Office & Warehouse Hours)
• Tuesday, Dec. 22 | Open 7:30AM-4:30PM
• Wednesday Dec. 23 through Friday, Dec. 25 | Closed
• Monday, Dec. 28 & Tuesday, Dec. 29 | Open 7:30AM-4:30PM
• Wednesday, Dec. 30 | Open 7:30AM – 12:00PM
• Thursday, Dec. 31 – Friday, Jan. 1 | Closed
• Monday, Jan. 4 | 7:30AM-4:30PM (Resume normal weekly hours)

Cedar Valley Food Pantry
• Tuesday, Dec. 22 | Open 9:00AM-3:00PM
• Wednesday Dec. 23 through Friday, Dec. 25 | Closed
• Monday, Dec. 28 – Tuesday, Dec. 29 | Open 9:00AM-3:00PM
• Wednesday, Dec. 30 | Open 9:00AM – 11:00AM
• Thursday, Dec. 31 – Friday, Jan. 1 | Closed
• Monday, Jan. 4 | 9:00AM-3:00PM (Resume normal weekly hours)
Contact: 319-235-0507 - Location: 1605 Lafayette St., Waterloo

Grace Baptist Church
• Open by appointment only
Contact: 319-233-6196 - Location: 3820 Hammond Ave., Waterloo

Saint Vincent de Paul Society
• Monday, Dec. 21 – Friday, Dec. 25 | Closed
• Monday, Dec. 28 – Wednesday Dec. 30 | Open 9:00AM-12:00PM
Contact: 319-233-6196 - Location: 320 Broadway St .,Waterloo

Salvation Army Pantry
• Thursday, Dec. 24 – Friday, Dec. 25 | Closed
• Thursday, December 31 – Friday, January 1 | Closed
Contact: 319-233-6196 -  Location: 89 Franklin St., Waterloo

St. Patrick Catholic Church Pantry
• Monday, Dec. 28 | Open 9:00AM-12:00PM (by appointment)
Contact: 319-233-6196 - Location: 705 Main St., Cedar Falls

Last year, the Food Bank distributed more than 10 million pounds of food, which provided over 8.3 million meals within a 16-county service area. This coming year, they're projecting 52,000 northeast Iowans who will be food-insecure, amounting to over 8.9 million meals. Remember, with every $1 you give can provide up to 4 meals for northeast Iowans experiencing hunger. For more information and to donate click here.

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

LOOK: Just some of the photos that capture the historic year that was 2020