Get our free mobile app

When Waterloo students return to the classrooms after summer vacation, one of the district's schools will have a new leader.

Tamara Phillips has been named the new principal at Lincoln Elementary, pending Board of Education approval. She is scheduled to replace interim principal Adam Ahrendsen on July 1.

"After a rigourous and comprehensive selection process, we are excited to add Tamera Phillips as a leader in Waterloo Schools," said Superintendent Dr. Jane Lindaman. "Ms. Phillips stood out as the right fit for Lincoln Elementary and we are excited to bring her on board in this new capacity. While she has a breadth of experiences outside our district, she is a Waterloo native and is committed to our district and our community."

Currently, Phillips is the Lead Teacher at Lou Henry Elementary School in Waterloo. She joined the local district in 2019 after working as a teacher and instructional coach for 13 years in Kansas and Missouri.

"I am extremely honored and excited to be joining the Lincoln family," Phillips said. "I look forward to serving the students, families and staff. It's my core belief that all children have a civil right to a quality education and I look forward to continuing this work with the Lincoln family.”

Phillips graduated from Graceland University in Lamoni. She earned Master’s degrees in School Leadership and Teaching Multidisciplinary Studies from Webster University in Kansas City, Mo., and Baker University in Baldwin City, Kan., respectively.

Three committees were engaged in the hiring process to fill the position at Lincoln. Committee members included administrators, staff and parent/community members.

Waterloo School District - Welcome Signs

With an enrollment of more than 10,500 students, the Waterloo School District is one of the 10 largest of Iowa’s 377 public school systems. The district currently operates two regular high schools, one alternative high school, four middle schools,11 elementary schools and a regional career center. The district includes the cities of Waterloo, Elk Run Heights, Evansdale, Gilbertville, Raymond, part of Cedar Falls, and some unincorporated areas of Black Hawk County.

Ten Iowa Trivia Questions

More From Q98.5