Gov. Kim Reynolds is loosening restrictions in a large part of Iowa Friday, but limitations will continue in for roughly a quarter of the state’s counties where coronavirus numbers continue to surge.

Reynolds announced Monday morning that businesses can choose to reopen in 77 counties, but they must comply with certain restrictions. She mentioned restaurants, fitness centers, retail stores, and enclosed malls. Reynolds said all of them will be allowed to reopen at 50 percent their normal operating capacity. Play areas, restaurants, and other common seating spaces inside malls must remain closed, however mall restaurants may be allowed to operate on a carry-out basis, Reynolds said.

Worships will also be allowed in those 77 counties, while sports and other large-crowd events will remain prohibited.

Reynolds said restrictions are being lifted in those counties because of low coronavirus activity.

The restrictions will be in place for Iowa other 22 counties until at least May 15. Those 22 counties include: Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Dallas, Des Moines, Dubuque, Fayette, Henry, Iowa, Jasper, Johnson, Linn, Louisa, Marshall, Muscatine, Polk, Poweshiek, Scott, Tama, Washington and Woodbury.

The Iowa Department of Public Health reported 349 additional cases of COVID-19 on Monday, for a total of 5,868 positive tests. Nine additional deaths were also reported statewide, including a Black Hawk County adult between the ages of 61 and 80 and a Bremer County adult over the age of 81.

Black Hawk County had 939 cases of the coronavirus, as of Sunday.

Q98.5 logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

More From Q98.5