Nine teams from the Cedar Valley and northeast Iowa are featured in the fourth high school football rankings of the season released by the Associated Press on Monday (Sept. 17, 2018).

There is no change at the top of the eight-player or Class-A rankings. For the fourth-straight week, Don Bosco and Hudson are still considered to be the best teams among those featured in the survey. Both squads remain undefeated, but they're coming off of challenging victories Friday night.

Don Bosco (4-0, 2-0) increased the state's longest-active winning streak to 24 games with a 46-34 win over Janesville at Gilbertville. The margin was the smallest for the Dons against an opponent since their 44-34 loss to Central Community of Elkader on Sept. 23, 2016.

Hudson (4-0, 2-0) survived a tough road test, beating No. 5 North Tama, 27-24, in overtime at Traer. It was the 15th-consecutive regular-season win for the Pirates. The setback dropped the Redhawks to No. 6 in this week's poll.

Cedar Falls also prevailed in a match-up of Top-10 teams. The third-ranked Tigers beat No. 2 Bettendorf, 29-23, at the UNI-Dome. Following the win, Cedar Falls moved up one spot and replaced the Bulldogs at No. 2 in recent survey.

Other area teams featured in the this week's survey include: Waverly-Shell Rock (No. 7, Class-3A), Waukon (No. 2, 2A), Dike-New Hartford (No. 3, 1A), Sumner-Fredericksburg (No. 9, 1A) and Turkey Valley (No. 7, 8-player).

Five other teams from the Cedar Valley and northeast received votes in the latest six-class poll, but just missed being ranked among the top 10. Those teams were: Waterloo West, West Delaware, Edgewood-Colesburg, Wapsie Valley and Grundy Center.

The Top Ten teams in the Associated Press Iowa high school football polls of the 2018 season with first-place votes in parentheses and won-loss record, total points and position last week at right:

1. West Des Moines Valley (8)4-01071
2. Cedar Falls (2)4-0983
3. Ankeny Centennial (1)4-0885
4. Bettendorf3-1652
5. Johnston3-1587
5. Iowa City West3-1586
7. West Des Moines Dowling2-2424
8. Indianola4-0379
9. Waukee2-2228
10. Cedar Rapids Prairie3-118NR

Others receiving votes: Fort Dodge 10. Ankeny 1. Waterloo West 1.

1. Cedar Rapids Xavier (9)4-01081
2. Council Bluffs Lewis Central (2)4-0972
3. Solon4-0824
4. Pella4-0793
5. Sioux City Heelan4-0695
6. Sergeant Bluff-Luton3-1389
7. Waverly-Shell Rock4-0357
8. Eldridge North Scott3-1348
9. Clear Creek-Amana4-021NR
10. Epworth Western Dubuque3-1206

Others receiving votes: Harlan 14. Manchester West Delaware 4. Adel ADM 4.

1. Monroe PCM (11)4-01102
2. Spirit Lake4-0903
3. Boyden-Hull-RV3-1841
4. Van Horne Benton4-0814
5. Algona4-0586
6. Greene County4-0567
7. Waukon3-1465
8. Clear Lake3-1299
9. O-A BCIG4-02010
10. State Center West Marshall3-118NR

Others receiving votes: Chariton 8. Sheldon 3. Mount Vernon 1. Centerville 1.

1. West Branch (6)4-0951
2. Van Meter (2)4-0873
3. Dike-New Hartford (2)4-0832
4. South Central Calhoun (1)4-0674
5. Bellevue4-0519
6. Mediapolis4-0456
7. Hawarden West Sioux3-1445
8. Inwood West Lyon3-12810
9. Truro Interstate 354-019NR
(tie) Sumner-Fredericksburg4-019NR

Others receiving votes: Wilton 16. Pella Christian 4. Iowa City Regina 2.

1. Hudson (8)4-01071
2. A-H-S-T-W, Avoca (3)4-0882
3. Algona Garrigan4-0733
4. Belmond-Klemme4-0684
5. Hinton4-0447
6. Traer North Tama3-1365
7. Packwood Pekin3-128T10
8. Riverside Highland4-0269
9. St. Ansgar3-1246
10. Britt West Hancock3-1198

Others receiving votes: Edgewood-Colesburg 16. Brooklyn BGM 10. Fairbank Wapsie Valley 8. Grundy Center 5. Eldon Cardinal 4. Mason City Newman 3. Southwest Valley 1.

1. Gilbertville-Don Bosco (9)4-01021
2. New London4-0832
3. Elk Horn-Kimballton Exira (1)4-0763
4. Westside Ar-We-Va4-0575
5. Marengo Iowa Valley (1)5-0556
6. Newell-Fonda4-0544
7. Jackson Junction Turkey Valley4-0467
8. Liberty Center SE Warren5-0378
9. Fremont Mills, Tabor3-1189
10. East Mills4-01510

Others receiving votes: Wyoming Midland 6. Northwood-Kensett 5. Central City 4. Kingsley-Pierson 1. Wayland WACO 1.

More From Q98.5